Shadell Millinghaus’ 37 points, Josh Cameron’s 10-point 3rd quarter run sealed victory

(ALBANY, NY) – in front of the largest crowd to watch a Patroons game at the Armory in years, the Albany Patroons claimed their third professional basketball league championship, by winning Game 3 with a deciding 124-114 victory over the Yakima Sun Kings.  

The Patroons were led in scoring by Shadell Millinghaus, whose 37 points and 12 rebounds in 48 minutes of on-court action helped him claim the 2018 TBL Most Valuable Player of the Playoffs award.  Jordan Robertson also had a hot hand for the Patroons, claiming 25 points and going 4-for-5 from beyond the arc.

But the biggest spark may have come from Josh Cameron, as with 6:23 in the third quarter and Yakima with a small lead, Cameron was fouled in the act of shooting a three-pointer – Cameron made the 3 and the foul shot, then hit two more three-pointers in a row, helping the Patroons take the lead and never look back.

The Patroons also garnered a pair of double-doubles from Anthony Moe (12 pts, 11 rebounds) and Steven Cunningham (10 pts, 10 rebs).  

The Sun Kings were led in scoring by Tony Farmer, who notched 31 points and pulled down 19 rebounds.  Robert Duncan also had a double-double of 21 points and 10 rebounds for the Sun Kings.  Yakima actually won the battle of offensive rebounds, 32-10 over Albany.  

The triumph gives the Patroons their third professional basketball championship; they previously won the 1984 and 1988 CBA titles; the 2019 title also gives Patroons head coach Derrick Rowland his fourth championship; two as a player with the Patroons (1984, 1988) and his second as a coach; he previously won the 2010 IBA championship as head coach of the Albany Legends.

Our Sponsors