Albany Patroons announce former longtime UAlbany Head Coach Will Brown as GM & Head Coach

The 2022 season tips off in March at the Washington Avenue Armory

(Albany, NY - October 27, 2021) – This coming March the Albany Patroons return to defend their 2019 TBL Championship at the Armory for the 2022 season, on the same court, in the same venue where it all started 40 years ago. 

The Patroons proudly announce that former longtime UAlbany Head Coach Will Brown has assumed the role of General Manager & Head Coach for the historic Patroons franchise.

With three decades of coaching experience, Coach Brown brings to the organization an unmatched basketball mind and an expansive network within amateur and professional basketball. With over 405 wins as a head coach, 5 NCAA Tournament appearances and a lifelong commitment to serving the community, Will Brown is the ideal leader for the Albany Patroons' next chapter.

Coach Brown says, "I am excited to join the Albany Patroons organization as General Manager and Head Coach. The Patroons are an organization rich in history and tradition. My family and I love the Albany community and are looking forward to continuing to make a positive impact on and off the court. I would like to thank Ben Fernandez, Michael Corts and Rocco Ricchiuti for this opportunity.  I want the Albany Patroons to be the community’s team!  I look forward to seeing everyone at the Armory!"

The Basketball League has grown tremendously over the past couple seasons with more than 40 teams in the US and Canada.

The Albany Patroons were founded in 1982 and are celebrating their 40th anniversary this season.  The Pats have won three basketball championships; two in the Continental Basketball Association (CBA) (1983-84, 1987-88), and one in the TBL (2018-19).  Among the many former Patroons who graduated to the NBA include Vincent Askew, Mario Elie, Sidney Lowe, Michael Brooks and Larry Spriggs.  The NBA coaching ranks also have many Patroons as alumni, including Phil Jackson, George Karl, Bill Musselman, Rick Carlisle, Terry Stotts, Scott Brooks, Sidney Lowe and Michael Curry.